DaVinci Resolve is the world’s only complete post production solution that lets everyone work together on the same project at the same time. Each artist gets their own dedicated workspace with the tools they need to do their job. Everything is tied together and managed by a powerful multi user database, universal timeline and advanced image and sound processing engines so editors, colorists, VFX artists, animators and sound engineers can all work together on the same project and at the same time. That means you no longer have to wait for the editor to lock picture, you no longer have to deal with importing and exporting files, translating projects, losing work, or conforming and managing changes!
Traditionally post production has a linear workflow with each artist handing off to the next, introducing errors and mountains of change logs to keep track of each stage. DaVinci Resolve multi-user collaboration allows each user to simultaneously log in and work together on exactly the same project, at the same time! Multiple assistants can prepare and sort footage, the editor can cut, visual effects artists can work on shots and colorists can start grading, all while the picture editor is still editing in the timeline! Audio engineers can even be mixing one scene while the picture editor cuts another, and review each others changes without spending countless hours re‑conforming the timeline!
The DaVinci Resolve Project Server software makes collaboration possible by managing the traffic and saving the changes from each user. This elegant software makes setting up a shared project database fast and easy. Once setup is complete, users can log in and start working!
DaVinci Resolve is the only post production solution that lets you use the storage of your choice. You don’t need to buy expensive, proprietary storage or hire an entire IT department to use or manage it! Simply connect each user to your shared storage, setup the project server software and start working!
Automatic bin and timeline locking let multiple people work without overwriting each others work. One user can create bins for organizing footage, add metadata and create string outs while another works in a different bin. Bins and timelines are "read only" until they are unlocked by the current user.
DaVinci Resolve features built in chat so team members can talk about shots, review tasks and share creative ideas without leaving the software. Editors can quickly message assistants, audio engineers, colorists and VFX artists to talk about work, producers can get status updates and more.
The revolutionary timeline comparison tool lets you visually see the differences between two versions of a timeline. You’ll be able to see exactly where footage has been added, deleted, moved or trimmed. This makes it super fast and easy to see, review and accept new changes as they are made!
DaVinci Resolve lets you create private or shared markers. Personal markers are private and can only be seen by you, while shared markers can be seen by other people working in the project. This makes it easy for you to annotate clips, write notes and share ideas between other users.
Each user in a collaborative project can generate and manage their own cache files and set their own monitoring preferences to optimize the performance of their specific system. You can also open collaborative projects in read only mode to review cuts or copy items without affecting other users.
While the editors are creating the timeline and adding effects, the colorists and their assistants can select any clip and start grading simultaneously! Individual clips are auto locked while they are being graded so they can’t be overwritten, and each colorist knows who is grading which shot.
DaVinci Resolve features live save, which allows multiple users to constantly save small and incremental changes to the project’s database while they are working, in real time. This means no-one loses the work they’ve completed since the last back up if they are interrupted or forget to save as they go!